Sponsorship Ashurst Business Literature Prize

Entries are now invited to the Ashurst Business Literature Prize 2016. Use the link below to submit your work.  The winner will be announced in early 2017.

The PDF server is offline. Please try after sometime.

The Ashurst Business Literature Prize is an annual award established to encourage and recognise the highest standards of literary commentary on Australian business and financial affairs.

Launched in 2004 by Ashurst Australia and the State Library of New South Wales, the Prize aims to promote the highest standards in business writing targeted at the general reader.

The A$30,000 prize is now acknowledged as being Australia's most important award for business writing. The range of subjects covered by the prize includes corporate and commercial literature, histories, accounts and analyses of corporate affairs as well as biographies of business people.

The Ashurst Business Literature Prize aims to:

  • Encourage business and finance writing and commentary of the highest quality; writing that brings with it the richness that can come from detailed research
  • Stimulate those writers with a knowledge of Australia's business life and to encourage their continued production of insightful, well researched books that can be easily digested by the general reader
  • Enable all Australians and the general reader to be better informed about Australia's commercial life and its participants
  • Add another dimension to Australia's intellectual and cultural life

"We are delighted that this award which celebrates literary commentary on Australian business is thriving…the Library and its Foundation are grateful for Ashurst’s continuing support for Australian writers".  Alex Byrne, NSW State Librarian and Chief Executive.

The 2016 Prize

Joining the independent judging panel this year is Margie Seale, whose most recent executive role was Managing Director of Random House Australia and New Zealand. She is now a non-executive director on a range of public company boards including Telstra Corporation and Bank of Queensland and non-executive chairman of Penguin Random House Australia and New Zealand. 

Eligible books must have been first published between 1 September 2015 and 31 August 2016, and be commercially available in Australia within this period. For further information and application forms click here

​Now in its 12th year, the Ashurst Business Literature Prize has recognised some of Australia’s finest writers who have canvassed a diverse range of business and financial topics that affect all Australians. Mary Padbury, Ashurst Global Vice Chairman

2015 winner

Author and antiquarian book publisher Stuart Kells won the 2015 Ashurst Business Literature Prize for his ground-breaking counter-history of the 20th century's greatest publishing house. In Penguin and the Lane Brothers (Black Inc.), Kells, relying on unprecedented access to Lane family sources, sheds new light on the intimate partnership of brothers Alan, Richard and John, the drivers of Penguin's success.

Business literature prize winner 2015

Recent winners

  • 2015

    Stuart Kells

  • 2015
  • 2014

    Andrew Burrell

  • 2014
  • 2013

    Malcolm Sykes

  • 2013
  • 2012

    Peter Hartcher

  • 2012
  • 2011

    Trevor Sykes

  • 2011
Load More

Prize guidelines

See the Ashurst Business Literature Prize guidelines.

Get Started


        Forgot password? Please contact your relationship manager to find out more about our client portal.

        Forgot Password - Ashurst Account

        If you have forgotten your password, you can request a new one here.
        Ashurst Loader